VISION AND PURPOSE

Responding to public health concerns

The health sector is going through a transformation. The population is aging, numbers of chronically ill patients are growing and healthcare expenditures continue to rise. In order to face these challenges, new patient care models are being developed and healthcare is becoming increasingly digitalized.

Diverse healthcare stakeholders: including healthcare professionals, authorities, payers, industry, private and public healthcare organisations, all agree that improving treatment adherence is a key factor in combatting these pressing public health challenges. In fact, in a 2003 report*, the World Health Organisation stated that approximately 50% of prescribed medication for chronic therapies are not being taken correctly and that “increasing the effectiveness of adherence interventions may have a far greater impact on the health of the population than any improvement in specific medical treatments”. Looking beyond adherence, the notions of quality of life and the patient experience over a lifetime are more than ever relevant.**

Image ronde femme et aidante tablette

Designing e-health solutions

Confronted with these facts, we created Observia in 2011 to provide innovative support services and e-health solutions that meet two prime objectives:

  • Offer patients new mechanisms to benefit from ongoing and highly personalized follow-up care that reflects the real needs of the chronically ill

  • Equip healthcare professionals with useful tools that help them achieve objectives co-defined with their patients.

We have worked collaboratively with numerous healthcare stakeholders on a variety of initiatives that change the way care is offered and managed: in-home e-health solutions, the creation of digital channels, as well as the installation of digital ‘care hubs’ to allow hospital-based multi-disciplinary professional teams to better coordinate care and monitor patient progress.

Supporting chronic patients over the long-term

The core objective of programmes offered by Observia is to provide better care for patients and improve their experience. In order to accomplish this, it is essential to understand each patient fully and offer them support that is entirely adapted to their individual needs. We have carried out considerable research to understand patient behaviour, measure it, and to affect it by educating, motivating and assisting patients.

Deepening behavioural research and creating high-impact patient support projects makes our work fascinating and challenging, and we hope to continue innovating with our partners to develop future patient support solutions and help improve patients’ lives.

* http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/2003/pr54/fr/

** According to “the council for affordable healthcare”, in the United States, non-adherence is responsible for 125,000 deaths per year and 25% of hospital admissions, and costs society $289 billion. In France, the cost of non-adherence is estimated to be 2 billion euros, and be responsible for 8,000 deaths and 1 million hospitalisations per year.

愿景和使命

回应公众健康问题

近年来人口老龄化进程加快,慢性病患者人数不断增加,医疗支出持续增长。面对这些挑战,全新的患者管理模型发展起来,医疗行业也正在逐步实现数字化转型。

医护人员、医疗监管机构、药企、私营和公共医疗组织等医疗行业的各方,都认为提高治疗的依从性是应对以上挑战的关键因素。2003年世界卫生组织表示,大约有50%的慢性病治疗药物没有得到正确的使用,有效地提高依从性也许比任何特定的医学治疗改善对人类健康而言具有更为重要的影响*。不局限于依从性来看,患者整个生命过程中的生活质量和患者体验的概念是更为重要的**。

Image ronde femme et aidante tablette

设计电子医疗解决方案

针对以上公共健康问题,Observia在2011年创建,提供创新的支持服务和电子健康解决方案,实现两个主要目标:

  • 为患者提供新的机制,使患者从持续的高度个性化的跟踪护理中获益,满足患者对慢性病的真正需求;

  • 为医护人员提供有用的工具,帮助医护人员实现医护人员与患者共同制定的目标。

我们与医疗领域的众多相关方合作,改善医疗护理提供和管理的模式:家庭电子医疗解决方案,数字化渠道创建,允许以医院为基础的多学科专业团队更好地协调医护管理并监控患者的进展的数字化“护理中心”。

为慢病患者提供长期支持

Observia所提供的方案的核心目标是:为患者提供更好的医疗护理,提高患者体验。为了实现这一目标,必须充分了解每个患者并未其提供完全适合他们个人需求的支持计划。我们做了大量的患者行为的研究,测量患者行为,通过教育影响患者行为,激励并协助患者。

深化行为学研究并创建高影响力的患者支持项目是我们的工作更加具有意义和挑战性,我们希望同合作伙伴们一起不断创新,开创未来的患者支持方案,为改善患者的生活贡献一份力量。


* http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/2003/pr54/fr/

** 根据美国 “the council for affordable healthcare”,在美国每年由于依从性差导致的死亡人数达125,000,由于依从性差导致的住院占比为25%,导致的经济成本损失为2890亿美元。在法国,依从性差导致的成本损失估计为20亿欧元,每年导致的死亡人数达8,000人,住院人数为100万人。